Arlington Court and the National Trust Carriage Museum
Arlington Court is a Regency house located on the edge of Exmoor. The house was built in 1823 with the family estate being owned by the Chichester family for over 500 years. The Carriage Museum is located in the stables and has an interesting collection of horse-drawn vehicles.
The formal Victorian Garden was created in the early 19th century and includes herbaceous borders, an attractive fountain surrounded by arched trellises, bedding plants and banks of colourful azaleas.
To learn more and book your day out click here
There are over twenty miles of footpaths to explore around the Arlington Estate. These range from easy strolls to longer and more demanding walks.
Dogs are welcome in the grounds and formal gardens, and the carriage museum when open. There are also plenty of picnic benches in the tea garden where dogs are permitted.
Dogs are welcome on a lead within the grounds around the house and carriage museum. From 1 February-30 June dogs must be kept on a lead everywhere to protect livestock. From 1 July-31 January dogs can be let off the lead on the Lake Walk and around the wider estate.